The Groundsman’s Shed


USL: Silverbacks Sign a Josh by groundsman
February 17, 2008, 4:06 am
Filed under: Atlanta Silverbacks, football, USL

What is the age of this new signing for USL First Division club Atlanta Silverbacks?

24.  Seriously.

I think the Lalas-esque stoner curls, and apple cheeked smirk are the decieving traits.  Even more telling, his name is “Josh”, the stereotypical name for any American soccer player. 

In any case, Josh Bolton is coming to my hometown club from the Rochester Raging Rhinos and Silverbacks manager Jason Smith describes mop topped lad as a “big, strong” defensive midfielder.

The team’s first match of the 2008 season is April 19th.  I’ll probably go, just to see some live footy just before I go to London, and long before Euro2008.  As there are no MLS teams in any of the surrounding cities or states, I’ve been longing to have a team who can truly be “mine”.  I love the Arsenal- but there’s a pesky ocean between myself and Emirates at the moment, so I’m going to make do with whatever is nearby. 

Want to come with me on my journey through the USL(the second division of pro soccer)? Learn about it here.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] The Groundsman’s Shed wrote an interesting post today on USL: Silverbacks Sign a JoshHere’s a quick excerpt Even more telling, his name is “Josh”, the stereotypical name for any American soccer player….Want to come with me on my journey through the USL(the second division of pro soccer)? Learn about it here…. […]

Pingback by Soccer » USL: Silverbacks Sign a Josh




Leave a Reply

